top of page

WoodWorking Adventures!

I have always been fascinated by woodworking. I have been telling my husband that this is something I have wanted to get into over the last couple years. I love doing DIY projects and wanted to do more wood projects for our home, without paying someone else to do them. So I sold some baby items I had around the house that we will no longer need and bought some power tools! I was like a kid in a candy store at Home Depot!

We ended up getting new drills, a sander, a miter saw, new drill bits and a circular saw!

This is real life people I have kids and always have a ton of napkins in the cars!! Lol. What mom doesn't have a ton of napkins in the car?

Now on to the fun part!

The following weekend we finally got the wood for my first project! I don't know why we didn't get it at the same time when we got the tools? But oh well. So I picked up 8-2x4 at 8 feet long to start on the new work bench! ( This picture shows all the measurements on the wood for cutting!) In the top of the picture you can see my toddlers Lone Ranger shoe! we still don't have a match! lol

All the wood nice and cut (so I thought, I had a learning curve. No pun intended)! Yes I cut it all by myself! I also cluttered the garage too to make room for this project! Sorry hubby! Love you!

I had to take a selfie with the wood that I cut!

So here is one side done! Nice and level!

It took me another week and new 2x4x8 but I got it all put together!

The top is on and needing to be cut ! I think it looks amazing and will get the job done! yeah so that board on the bottom will not fit for the whole thing! lol I thought it would, but NO. Oh well I will just use it for another project! That is to come later!

I finished the top and started to sand the edges with the sander so my kids ( who are at the perfect height and their head runs into every corner). Oh and we are finally adults and got a shop vac after talking about it for about 4 years.

There it is! In all its glory! I did it! My first wood project! I have tons of space on top and under to store all the tools I need! I can also place the miter saw under the bench so that I can have more surface area on the top of the work bench!

I am not sponsored, but I did use the Ana White pattern!

http://www.ana-white.com/2015/12/free_plans/easy-diy-garage-workshop-workbench


bottom of page